Sunday-Food prep time!-Late Post

Hi everyone!

I want to share what I did for my food prep day…It only took 2.5 hours doing it leisurely!!! (Perhaps because it’s quite simple this week). To jazz this up a bit, you could mix the veggies and chicken breast with some sesame oil for one meal (sesame oil is very high in calories!). I’ll typically have a grapefruit or smoothie with two omelette muffins for breakfast. Red wine vinegar LIGHTLY drizzled with olive oil on a mixture of chicken and vegetables, or even salad, is a nice way to mix it up a bit.

IMG_0107 IMG_0113

1) Chicken Breast

2) Sautéed Veggies

3) Omelette Muffins

4) Salad Fixings

1) Chicken Breast

I immediately threw in frozen Foster Farms chicken breast (we get a huge bag of it at Costco) as the oven was heating. Once it was heated to 380F, I coated the chicken with pepper and Garlic Salt from Trader Joe’s. & left it in there for about 45 minutes. Once it cooled, I diced it and put it in a container. Now it’s ready for salads or whatever!

IMG_0085

IMG_0105

2) Sauteed Veggies

I washed and cut zucchini, yellow squash and broccoli and put it in a large pan with some water and a little olive oil and pepper and Garlic Salt from Trader Joe’s until just before it started to get soft. Since I planned on eating this throughout the week, when I store it, it gets a bit soggier over time, so you don’t want the veggies completely softened or else they get too soggy later in the week.

IMG_0087 IMG_0086

3) Omelette Muffins

I browned ground turkey in a pan to eventually add to the mixture. In the meantime, I sautéed bell peppers, onions and mushrooms together. Then, separately, I sautéed spinach, cut it into bite size pieces and mixed it with the pepper and mushroom mixture. After a few minutes or so the turkey was cooked and mixed with the veggie mixture. I took about half of that mixture and put it in a separate storage bowl because it’s a nice snack as is. I mixed the other half with 2 1/2 cups of egg whites (you can use regular eggs of course if you want more calories). Next, I mixed it together and ladled it into a WELL greased (with olive oil) muffin pan. Be sure to do this in small amounts at a time or else it could overflow before the toppings even get in there, depending how you’re pouring it in. Since the chicken was out by now, I put these in for about 20 minutes at 350F & stored them in the fridge. Keep your eye on them, as the time may vary depending on your mixture and egg yolks/egg whites. This is a GREAT time saver in the morning! It’s definitely a nice, grab-and-go breakfast!

IMG_0095

IMG_0088 IMG_0090 IMG_0091 IMG_0092

IMG_0100 IMG_0102 IMG_0112 IMG_0113 IMG_0108

4) Salad Fixings

I did this while the muffins were in the oven. I washed and cut up baby carrots, radishes and cucumber and mixed them into a storage container. Now when I want a salad this week, all I have to do is sprinkle! 🙂 (Great time saver) I wanted to make honey toasted almonds too, but I was out of honey. When I get honey this week I will make those and post how to do it on here. 🙂 They are like candy!!!!!

IMG_0094 IMG_0097 IMG_0098

 

 

Leta

One thought on “Sunday-Food prep time!-Late Post

Leave a Reply

