Leta’s Meal Prep This Week

Hi SCDers!

It’s been a while. I hope you all are doing great. In this post I’m walking you through what meal prep I did for the week that only took 1.5 hours, including dinner for the night. 🙂 It’s a little on the boring/simple side, but I needed to be quick in my meal prep this week! Could mix up snacks with Larabars or Rx bars or That’s It bars. Could also do different mixtures of fruit (whatever is in season or on sale!)

First, I got some ground turkey from Trader Joe’s on the stovetop, with garlic and pepper for seasoning.

img_0984

As that was going, I started on some tuna salad. Where I added canned tuna (in water, no salt added), celery, cherry tomatoes, dried prunes, mayo, pepper, squeeze of lemon juice and mixed. While this was being done, I stirred the turkey around as needed.

While stirring/cooking the turkey, I also added bell peppers, black beans (yes I do canned sometimes), and a jar of green salsa for more flavor.

 

Now that I have these batches, I’ll pack them up but in different ways so it’s not the same meal each time. For the tuna, I’ll cut some celery to use as a scooper for one meal. For another meal I put it on a bed of lettuce and drizzled with apple cider vinegar as my dressing. Another batch I’ll leave by itself, just because it’s tasty enough by itself. 🙂

img_1003

For the turkey mix I did a similar thing except I sliced a red bell pepper as the scooper, another portion on a bed of lettuce, and another portion by itself. Oh & there was a bit leftover so I put that aside to be used in the morning with some eggs for an easy scramble!

 

Okay, now for some snacks. I bought a variety of grapes, washed them and bagged up a few mixtures. I also bought a mix of nuts, bagged those up as well.

Now, I’ll need dinner for tonight and would like to turn it into some leftovers to make another meal out of it. I put some frozen salmon in the oven along with carrots, all drizzled with grapeseed oil and pepper. I plan to use riced cauliflower, broccoli and the leftover salmon with some sesame oil for an asian-themed lunch. For dinner, I’ll throw together a salad too.

 

While the salmon and carrots are in the oven, I’ll make some almond milk. All you need are blanched almonds, you can buy them in bulk at places like Winco, Sprouts, Whole Foods, etc. For every 1/2C of almonds you use, use 1C of water. You can add vanilla and cinnamon or dates or honey or any other flavors, to taste. Blend for at least 3 minutes and strain into a large bowl through a nut milk bag. You can get these at stores like Whole Foods or even online. Store the milk in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

With the almond milk done, I made some salads with mixed greens, cherry tomatoes, avocado and some leftover slivered blanched almonds from making almond milk. I use a balsamic vinegar for the dressing.

Remember to put dishes in the dishwasher THROUGHOUT the process of meal-prep, not just at the end. This cuts down on time and a prevents a mess you don’t want to clean up after all the cooking! 🙂

img_1010

Now that the salmon is out, I’ll mix it with riced cauliflower (sold fresh or frozen at Trader Joe’s, have seen it in Whole Foods too). If you can’t get it in store, just buy a head of cauliflower and “rice” it in a food processor, that’s all it is! I’ll also add some frozen broccoli and drizzle sesame oil, top with some curry spice, and plop in the salmon. One extra meal down! This will definitely need to be warmed up in the microwave & the oil works to soften the cauliflower a bit so you don’t have to “cook” it.

That’s 5 lunches & 8 snacks ready to go. 🙂

 

p.s. an idea for breakfast is making a “nut cereal” with a variety of nuts, sliced banana, shredded coconut, blueberries, and the awesome almond milk you just made. Super tasty for breakfast or even a dessert!

img_1024

2 thoughts on “Leta’s Meal Prep This Week

Leave a Reply

